Intermediate Kata

Intermediate Kata

There are six intermediate kata in the Shotokan style, that is if you include Tekki Shodan as an intermediate kata and not a basic kata.  However, based on its technical difficulty as well as its completely different embusen (performance line) to the basic kata, Tekki Shodan is most definitely at the intermediate level.

The six intermediate kata are as follows (for full kata demonstrations please see our members only section):

  • Tekki Shodan;
  • Bassai-dai;
  • Kanku-dai;
  • Enpi;
  • Jion;
  • Jitte.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *