Basic Kata


In the style of Shotokan Karate there are 26 officially recognized kata, comprising 5 basic kata, 6 intermediate kata and 15 advanced kata. This page covers the basic kata.

The basic Shotokan kata are called Heian kata and include Heian Shodan, Heian Nidan, Heian Sandan, Heian Yondan and Heian Godan.

Basic kata serve as an introduction to the Shotokan style of Karate while providing a way of practicing the basic movements learned during the first few months of practice.

Click on the links below for a demonstration of each of the first five basic kata.


Heian Shodan

Heian Nidan

Heian Sandan

Heian Yondan

Heian Godan


To go to the other kata pages click on the relevant links below.

Intermediate Kata

Advanced Kata - Nidan

Advanced Kata - Sandan

Advanced Kata - Yondan & Godan



Click on the club logo to go back to the Home Page

Heian Kata refer to the names of the first five basic kata in Shotokan Karate.

Manji-uke - a technique found in Heian Godan